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Youtube CPM rates by Niche: July 7, 2021.

When it comes to starting a new YouTube channel, most people immediately go into their comfort zone and create a channel centered on their hobbies. It makes a lot of sense – creating content about your interests is simple and can be extremely rewarding.

That’s fine as long as you use YouTube for entertainment purposes. However, if you want to grow a YouTube channel into a real business and earn a consistent income over time, focusing solely on your hobbies can be a fatal mistake.

You don’t want to waste your time putting in a lot of effort to make videos that don’t make you any money. You must identify a niche with a high CPM rate from YouTube Ads.

Youtube has been a growing platform for advertisers in recent years, and this trend is expected to continue.

In fact, net advertising revenues from YouTube are expected to reach $5.21 billion this year, and £6 billion in 2022! In the United States alone, 90 percent of all adults aged 18 to 44 use the platform.

That’s a big pie, and even if you only get a small piece of it, you’ll be fine. If you want to promote a brand, product, or service, YouTube can be a goldmine for generating revenue.

Nate O’Brian, a Personal Finance YouTuber, recently shared a video in which he discussed his 2021 financial goal of earning $1 million. The majority of that goal was funded by YouTube ad revenue.


Let’s run a little scenario so you could have a better understanding of what I talking about when it comes to CPM and its importance.

Let’s assume you and me both start a channel at the same time. Your channel is about playing video games, while mine is about dropshipping services. Both of our channels get some decent traction and after a few months of hard work – we both reach the monetization goals and start earning ad revenue from our videos.

After the first month of monetization, you get your very first Adsense check. You had over 50,000 monetized plays this month and with an average CPM of $1.5 you earned a total of 75 dollars. At the same time, my smaller channel had only 20,000 monetized plays. But while your CPM was $1.5, my videos about dropshipping received an average CPM of $12, earning me 240 dollars – more than 3 times your earnings from less than half the amount of viewers you had.

Consider your Youtube channel as your real business and not just a hobby; that’s the first pillar to any sort of Youtube success.

Youtube has been a growing platform for advertisers in recent years, and this trend is expected to continue.

In fact, net advertising revenues from YouTube are expected to reach $5.21 billion this year, and £6 billion in 2022! In the United States alone, 90 percent of all adults aged 18 to 44 use the platform.

That’s a big pie, and even if you only get a small piece of it, you’ll be fine. If you want to promote a brand, product, or service, YouTube can be a goldmine for generating revenue.

Nate O’Brian, a Personal Finance YouTuber, recently shared a video in which he discussed his 2021 financial goal of earning $1 million. The majority of that goal was funded by YouTube ad revenue.

When it comes to YouTube, your niche is critical in determining your earning potential.

What is the reason for this? Because Youtube earnings are based on CPM (cost per thousand impressions), a Marketing metric that represents the amount of money that advisers spend to display their ads on YouTube.

The trick is that advertisers will want to devote a larger portion of their advertising budgets to specific types of content where displaying their ads makes sense.

So, if your channel is all about minimalism and you promote the idea of not buying anything for the rest of your life, you’re unlikely to attract advertisers to place ads in your videos. Your ad revenue will be negligible.

However, if you choose niches that are relevant to what you care about and are knowledgeable about, as well as those that can attract significant ad spend, you will be in a better position.

A popular Personal Finance channel, for example, will most likely attract large budgets because advertisers in this industry (such as banks and credit card providers) have large ad budgets to allocate.

This is also a competitive niche, which means that advertisers must bid and pay the highest prices to have their ads displayed on the most popular channels.

Let’s take a look at the top Youtube niches for the highest earning potential.

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Youtube CPM rates by Niche

The cost per thousand impressions (CPM) varies according to the niche. CPM rates in the affiliate marketing niche, for example, can reach $22. Trading can have CPMs ranging from $8 to 18, whereas Dropshpping has an average CPM of $12. With a CPM of $10, content creation comes in second.

According to our analysis of over 100 videos, the following are the highest paying niches on YouTube:

Here are some niches to consider for their high CPM, as well as examples of channels that are doing well in those areas.

These niches are also competitive, which means that while you’ll need a strong brand and content to stand out, the average ad spend per video will be higher as well.

Some Stats from Income Stream Builders on Youtube CPM by niche

1. Make Money Online $13.52

2. Social Media Marketing $12.41

3. Finance & Investing $12.25

4. Educational Videos $9.89

5. Photography & Film Making $7.31

6. Cars $4.23

7. Lifestyle $3.47

8. Fashion & Clothing $3.13

9. Entertainment $2.74

10. Cooking $2.50

11. Tech & Gadgets $2.39

12. Reviews & Reactions $2.03

13. Bodybuilding & Fitness $1.60

14. Music $1.46

15. Video Games $1.40

16. ASMR

(Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response, eg. Mukbang) $0.29

17. Dance Cover $0.035

Also Read:

How Many Page Views Per Month to Make Money Online


Average true CPM: 12-22$

When it comes to earning money from YouTube ads, affiliate marketing reigns supreme. I looked at the stats of 10+ YouTubers in this niche, and it appears that the CPM they are getting is sometimes out of this world.

It all comes down to competition: affiliate marketing is a niche in which all players, large and small, are online and spend the majority of their acquisition budget on digital promotions. Most of those brands and advertisers are already familiar with YouTube ads and recognize the value they can provide by reaching out to a specific audience who watches affiliate marketing-related videos.

Unlike physical brands, SaaS companies and online course creators (the main advertisers in the affiliate marketing niche) can allocate a much larger budget cut to Youtube ads because they know they have a very real chance of achieving a positive ROI quickly, and they do not rely on those ads solely for brand power.

All of these factors contribute to the ever-increasing costs of advertising in the affiliate marketing niche, which you can profit from by launching a new channel covering similar topics.

Key channel in the niche: ODi Productions is a prime example of a key channel in the affiliate marketing niche. His Youtube channel’s average CPM is $25.5, which is clearly on the higher end of the scale:

Digging deeper into his channel statistics shown in this video, it’s clear that the main advantage of the affiliate marketing niche is that you don’t need a large number of monthly viewers to earn a lot of money on Youtube. All you have to do is drill down on relevant topics that are doing well, add your own spin, and you’re ready to go.

Ideas for viral videos for your own channel include: how to build a WordPress website from scratch, how to start affiliate marketing for beginners, and X best affiliate programs for beginners.


Average true CPM: 8-18$

The finance niche on YouTube appears to be doing exceptionally well at the moment. As more brands enter the fray, ad competition heats up – to the benefit of all finance-related creators, particularly those who create trading and investing video content.

Key channel in the niche: Andrei Jikhi is a major creator in the trading niche. Check out this video to see how you can monetize your own channel:

Viral video ideas for your own channel include: how to invest your first $1,000, the top 5 stocks of the month, and the highest paying jobs to learn.


Average true CPM: 7-14$

Drop shipping, like affiliate marketing, has seen a significant increase in the amount of money that content creators can expect to make in the last few years.

With more drop shipping courses being launched every month, as well as the rise of print on demand, these types of videos are regarded as prime advertising spots for all of the industry’s relevant brands. As a result, the average CPM of related channels has risen to $18.

The rising CPM rates, combined with the fact that videos in this niche can be easily monetized externally via affiliate links, digital courses, and coaching services, make the drop shipping niche an extremely profitable one to enter this year.

Wholesale Ted is a key channel in the niche.

Wholesale Ted is clearly doing something right, as he has over 500,000 subscribers. Take a look at this video where she discusses some of her online earnings:

Print on demand tutorial for beginners, top X print on demand sites in 2020, what you need to know before starting dropshipping in 2020 are all viral video ideas for your own channel.


Average true CPM: 5-13$

With the rise of the work-from-home lifestyle, particularly in the current Covid situation, an increasing number of people are attempting to launch their own online businesses. Whether through blogging, podcasting, or (you guessed it) YouTube, the demand for educational videos about starting a digital business and creating online content is steadily increasing.

Taking the first step is always the most difficult, and viewers are eager to hear any advice they can get from people who have already gotten their feet wet and had some success. This is true for any type of online content, so if you have any expertise in content creation, this is a great niche to enter.

Cathrin Manning is a key channel in the niche.

Cathrin’s channel is all about increasing the number of subscribers to your YouTube channel. Because those videos have relatively high CPM rates, even low-end videos with 1-5K views can generate a sizable income.

Ideas for viral videos on your own channel include: how to start your own podcast and how to start a YouTube channel in 2020.


Average true CPM: 4-12$

Personal finance is a topic that affects all of us for the majority of our lives, but it is not taught in school at all. That is why so many people use the internet and YouTube to educate themselves about money.

Reduced expenses are an important part of increasing your net savings, and despite being a relatively small niche – personal finance videos on YouTube are doing very well without being too clickbaity. They are all about building trust and sharing personal tips, which may be why advertisers like to use them to promote their products.

This market is also ripe for other forms of monetization. Online courses, in particular, appear to be the preferred option.

Key channel in the niche: Financial Flamingo is a small channel with a lot of videos about personal finance, saving money, and budgeting properly.

Viral video ideas for your own channel include: 5 side hustles to increase your income, how to pay off my X student loan debt, and how to set up your 2021 budget planner.

Other high paying Niches

VPN Content – The VPN market is extremely competitive, with many companies competing in a relatively small field. As a result, CPM rates for VPN content can be extremely high.

Amazon affiliates – A sub-category of Affiliate Marketing. Videos about making money with the Amazon Associates program, in particular, have extremely high CPM rates on YouTube, especially when compared to other affiliate brands.

Hosting a website

Reviews of Technology

Website Development

Cryptocurrency – Despite the usual ups and downs of Bitcoin, cryptocurrency remains a very hot topic, with many advertisers willing to bid on related videos.

Insurance – As boring as it may be for most of us, insurance is a topic that continues to pique our interest. It is one of the niches with the highest average CPC rate on Google all year, and traditional advertisers are beginning to shift to Youtube as a result of the overall lower rates.

Flipping Websites

Software Evaluations

Business Advice – This is a fairly broad term that can apply to a wide range of videos (including the personal finance and trading niches we previously discussed), but in my experience, videos that target small/medium businesses in particular typically generate $10+ CPM rates.

Advice on a Career

Property for sale

CPMs differ depending on the niche

CPMs in the Affiliate niche, for example, typically range between $12 and $22. E-commerce and Dropshipping average $7–14, while Trading and Investing average $8–18. Personal Finance is a little lower at $4–12.

The cost that advertisers are willing to pay to place their ads in your videos is determined by the metrics of your channel. Choosing the best niche is only one piece of the puzzle.

As you can see from the channels listed above, targeted, high-quality content wins the day on the platform. Higher-quality content that adds value to the audience generates more traffic, which means more eyes for advertisers to promote their brands to.

However, generating revenue from YouTube does not imply relying solely on ad revenue.

Other ways to monetize your channel include: using affiliate links in your videos and descriptions that are consistent with your brand.
Using your content to promote your own (digital or physical) products.

CPM rates are prone to fluctuation. The 2016 “adpocalypse” was a prime example of this: revenues plummeted as advertisers abruptly exited the platform in response to a change in YouTube’s ad strategy.

As a result, one YouTuber’s monthly earnings dropped from $275,000 to less than $2,000 per month. That’s a significant drop, despite receiving 200 million views per month.

YouTube made the decision at the time to prioritize family-friendly content over other types of content. This no longer matched the offering of advertisers, so they spent their ad dollars elsewhere.

Diversifying your income stream from your YouTube channel makes sense in order to protect yourself from the aforementioned threats.

It’s similar to the age-old investment adage of not putting all of your eggs in one basket.

Why is there such a wide variation in CPM between videos?

When you make YouTube videos (and you’re a partnered YouTuber), your videos become available for advertisers to use to display advertisements.

Each time someone sees or clicks on an advertiser’s ad, the advertiser must pay a fee.

The amount they pay is determined by the amount of competition (other advertisers) who want their ads to appear on their videos.

wide variation in CPM between videos

They must compete to see who can offer the highest price (similar to an auction) in order for their ads to be shown.

The more competition there is, the more expensive it is to display the ad.

The higher the cost of showing the ad, the more money you get as the creator of the video.

As a result, you must create videos that target a keyword with a high level of advertising competition.

What exactly is a keyword? A keyword is a phrase that people use to find content recommendations on YouTube or Google.

The title of every video you create, as well as the words you say during the video, are keywords that you are directly or indirectly targeting:

As an example:

A YouTube video titled “Best USB Mic?” The following keywords are being targeted by “AKG Lyra USB Microphone Review”:

Best USB Mic
AKG Lyra USB Microphone Review

You can type these keywords into Google Keyword Planner — the tool that advertisers use to plan the keywords to target with their ads — and the tool will tell you how much advertisers are paying for those keywords.


When it comes to finding profitable YouTube niches, the main issue is a lack of knowledge and transparency. Most people in the industry act solely on intuition, and actual facts are difficult to come by.

A common piece of advice (and misconception) I see all over the internet is to use the Google keyword tool to find the highest paying Adsense keywords and then try to create videos on those topics. While it may appear to be a good idea, those are two entirely different beasts.

Attorney and Electricity are the top two highest paying Adsense keywords in 2020. Do you honestly believe that this type of content would be the most profitable on YouTube as well? It is critical to understand that there is no direct relationship between Google and YouTube. They are distinct platforms with distinct audiences, and in order to succeed on YouTube, you must adapt to its existing audience base.


Fortunately for us, a new trend of Youtubers sharing their income reports began to appear all over YouTube last year, resulting in hundreds of Youtube income reports available publicly for us to explore.


This month, I analyzed over 100 different Youtube income report videos in search of accurate information about average Youtube CPM numbers and how much you can realistically earn per 1000 views, depending on your niche. Those videos were created by YouTubers from more than 20 distinct niches.

In this article, I will share with you the top 17 Youtube niches with the highest CPM that I was able to find, as well as key channels from each of them and a list of viral video ideas to help you get started in those niches.

As always, it is important to note that, despite having over 100+ videos, this data set is still relatively small, and the numbers cannot be completely trusted. Before deciding which niche to enter, I urge you not to focus on the exact CPM rates, but rather to consider them as an estimate of what you could earn with the right content strategy.

Finally, please keep in mind that I am using the metric of “true” CPM for the purposes of this research and to provide you with realistic numbers, which is total earnings / total number of views * 1000.

What factors contribute to a niche’s higher CPM? 

If you read the preceding section, you will understand that the higher the advertising competition, the higher the CPM you will receive.

But what makes a niche so appealing to advertisers?

Markets that are extremely profitable for businesses.

Niche markets with a LOT of money involved.

What factors contribute to a niche's higher CPM

Businesses in highly profitable markets can afford to spend a lot of money on advertising and still make a lot of money.

These are the advertising niches that make real money.

Some of the most competitive markets are, for example:

Health, Makeup, Finance, Relationship Counseling, and Dating Technology
These markets, however, are far too large.

There are some golden niches within them with CRAZY high CPM. These can be found at the top of the page.

Is it necessary for you to change your channel to one of these niches? 

No, not always.

Because the CPM varies by video, you can create videos that target highly competitive keywords — niches — without changing your entire channel.

Simply make sure that your new videos are related to the general niche of your channel.

If it makes sense, you can also make a gradual shift to one of these niches.

If you want to make money on YouTube and live off of it, you should treat your channel like a real business and switch to a revenue-focused strategy (that does not exploit your viewers).

Just make sure you don’t stop having fun while making videos, or you won’t last long.

How to Increase Your YouTube Earnings Without Increasing Your CPM
You don’t need a higher CPM to make a lot of money on YouTube.

There are alternatives to using YouTube ad money. As an example:

Marketing Through Affiliates
Making and selling your own products.

How to Make Money Through Affiliate Marketing 

Obtain and review products or paid apps that your target audience might be interested in.

Give an unbiased review, then include an affiliate link to the product in the video description.

An affiliate link is a special link that can earn you money if people click on it and buy the product.

Amazon Associates is the world’s most popular affiliate program.

It allows you to earn between 2% and 8% commission on Amazon sales made after people click your link.

However, almost every brand on the planet has some kind of affiliate program.

Visit their page and look for an affiliate program link, such as this one, in the header or footer:

Each affiliate program is unique, so make sure you read the terms and conditions before signing up.

You must apply for each affiliate program separately. You may not be accepted into all of them at first, but most affiliate programs aren’t picky.

How to Make Money Selling Your Own Products 

This is my preferred method of monetizing a YouTube channel.

This is a legitimate way to build an online business.

The best part is that you don’t have to do anything difficult.

Develop your own digital product or service.

All you have to do is solve a problem for your audience.

There are several options for charging to solve these issues:

Create a web-based course. 

That is one of our monetization methods at VloggerPro, and it is currently one of the most popular methods online.

If you are skilled in a particular area, you can teach them a new skill by developing an online course.

For example, you can teach people how to make money, how to earn more money freelancing, how to grow a YouTube channel or Instagram account, how to paint, and so on.

Our online courses are hosted by Teachable. It’s very simple, and it will handle everything for you (from lesson hosting to payment and student enrollment).

The beauty of this method is that you only need to create the course once, and you can sell it for years.

Begin consulting. 

This is comparable to developing your own online course.

The good news is that you can get started right away and get paid right away.

The disadvantage is that you must be on call and devote hours of your day to your clients.

While developing an online course, you can start consulting for a while to make some quick money.

Sell your own merchandise. 

Selling your own merchandise (apparel, clothing, coffee mugs, makeup, etc).

This is how famous YouTubers like Jake Paul make the majority of their money.

And it’s a lot simpler than you think.

All you need to do is use a white-label service like Printful.

You can basically pay a designer on Upwork or Fiverr to create the designs or logos that will be printed on your merch.

Printful will then handle the printing and shipping of the apparel for you. Easy.

All you’d need is a website (you could use Etsy, which is free), or you could create your own ecommerce site.

Provide premium content to paying subscribers. 

You could, for example, create an OnlyFans account and offer content that people cannot get for free.

Typically, you will charge around $15 per month per subscriber. It is currently one of the most popular monetization methods for content creators.

CPM in the YouTube world?

YouTube employs statistics and formulae to evaluate the effectiveness of an advertising campaign. CPM is a foundation for further tests and conclusions, as well as a keystone of measurements.

CPM refers to the amount of money you can earn for the promotional material you placed on this website within your video. Let us delve into the nitty-gritty of this concept and attempt to shed light on some discrepancies in its rates.

What exactly is CPM? 

While CPC on YouTube refers to the amount of money you receive for each click on a specific ad, CPM is an abbreviation for Cost per Mille, where “mille” stands for a thousand views. As a result, you are paid each time your ad reaches this threshold. The more people who see the ad, the more money you’ll make. As a result, this metric is critical for monetizing your YouTube channel.

What exactly is CPM

However, it is not as simple as that: you will not receive 100% of the promised revenue. YouTube takes a lion’s share of 45 percent (!) of the revenue, so you only get $55 out of $100, for example.

It is important to note that this is not an excuse to give up, but rather to try to provide as many perspectives as possible.

Keep in mind that the platform will only record a view if an advertisement video is watched for more than 30 seconds. Views obtained from mobile devices are also meaningless. In addition, you can use YouTube’s special calculator to estimate your potential earnings and see the big picture.


CPM is a numerical representation of the income you share with YouTube. This includes another parameter, RPM (Revenue per Mille), which is used to calculate your personal income while taking into account the platform’s retention. As a result, the amount of CPM is proportional to RPM. Both metrics are critical in determining your future profit. CPM, on the other hand, is extremely important for advertisers, whereas RMP is critical for creators.


YouTube will not inform you of your possible RPM value, but this can be handled independently.

Check “Payments” in your AdSense account by going to “Settings.” Take a look at the numbers from the previous month.
Enter YouTube Analytics to see the number of views at Monetized Playbacks (don’t look at the formal number of views because not all of them are monetized).
To calculate, use the following formula:
Monthly earnings / number of monetized views multiplied by 1,000.
For example, suppose you earned $200 in the previous month and received 50,000 views. So, 200/50,000 multiplied by 1,000 equals $4. That equates to $4 for every 1,000 views.

How to Calculate CPM for Your Channel

Because of YouTube’s volatility, calculating CPM ad rates is difficult. Throughout the year, interest rates fluctuate. The cost is primarily determined by the following factors:

Inventory Niche Content Country Audience Type
As a result, the CPM rate is affected by a variety of factors, but the value can still be calculated. The formula is similar to the RPM calculation model, but instead of the number of monetized views, we use the number of people (audience). As a result, the price for every thousand impressions received by an advertiser is calculated.

How to Calculate CPM for Your Channel

For example, a $10,000 investment in an advertising campaign resulted in 4,700,000 views. Thus, CPM equals ($10,000/4,700,000)x1000 = $2.13, which is how much an advertiser should pay for a thousand views. For example, the average CPM on YouTube is $2.

How to Increase Your Channel’s CPM.

When CPM rates fall, the situation becomes discouraging. This could occur as a result of a lack of due diligence with your audience. For example, if your followers are in the Middle East, you can’t expect to make a lot of money advertising swimming suits. In any case, there is no need to discuss the reasons for declining CPM rates; instead, it is preferable to reveal how to improve them.

Why do you require monetized views?

Even if you have a thousand subscribers, you will not make a lot of money. Their presence increases awareness, popularity, and ranking, but not revenue. Monetization is required to entice viewers to watch videos.

It is important to note that in order to begin monetizing your channel, you must first meet certain requirements. To monetize through Google AdSense, for example, you should join the Partner Program. However, you must have at least 1,000 subscribers and 4,000 hours of total viewing time in the previous twelve months to qualify.

How to Boost the Number of Monetized Views. 

The following pointers will assist you in increasing the number of monetized views.

Create one-of-a-kind, original content. Clips from other websites that have been uploaded are meaningless. You may only use other people’s videos for commentary.

To grow your channel, attract followers naturally (don’t buy them for bonuses/money or in exchange for your own subscription). This method is ineffective. Artificial inflation is not permitted.

Get legitimate traffic by using relevant keywords and tags, sharing your videos on social media platforms, and so on. Bots and other forms of spam are prohibited.

Avoid posting videos that promote violence, drugs, or other illegal activities.
Maintain the status of your channel at all times. That means you should post content on a regular basis. Breaks of more than six months may result in demonetization and closure.

Every now and then, audit your channel. Check metrics like subscribers-to-views ratio, engagement analysis, audience retention, statistics of suggested videos, and video watch time on YouTube Analytics. If one of your videos becomes popular, try to replicate its success with other videos.

Conduct competitor research to determine their strengths and weaknesses, and then fine-tune your strategy accordingly.

In addition, here are some suggestions for improving the quality of your video:

Provide useful information or entertainment.

Consider meta tags (title and description) and tailor them to the content.
To ensure high audience retention, avoid making clips that are too long.
Include a timestamp in the description and highlight the video’s main points.
Subtitles and closed captions can be added to improve the user experience.
Make your videos stand out by using exotic locations, advanced visual effects, and so on.

Upload end screens to encourage users to watch more of your channel’s videos.
Use playlists to make it easier for users to navigate through your videos and encourage them to watch more.

“Decorate” clips with different frames. Make use of a variety of angles.
Use interesting and appropriate soundtracks.

CPM rates vary according to country. 

CPM is also affected by geographical location. Target video in one of the 11 countries with premium rates to make more money.

The countries with the highest YouTube advertising CPM are fairly stable, but some countries can move up or down the list from year to year. So, here are the frontrunners:

Emirates of the United Arab Emirates
The country of New Zealand
Ukraine, Serbia, and a few other countries typically have the lowest CPM rates.

CPM rates vary according to the type of video. 

We’ve already established that the cost of YouTube advertising is proportional to the quality of the content. Some external factors, however, are not dependent on the creator’s efforts. When comparing educational and entertaining content, for example, the former has higher CPM rates. In this case, CPM is determined by the niche.

Why is this type of video so important? The primary reason for this is that video advertising is closely related to consumer demand. To illustrate the nuances, consider the United Kingdom, one of the countries with the highest CPM rates ($3–$6 on average).

Many British publishers sell media advertising through the Ad Exchange platform. Its CPM rates vary depending on a variety of factors (location, engagement, etc.) and range from $3 to $8. The type of ad displayed is up to the publisher. Furthermore, the network provides in-stream video ads that can be skipped while saving the same revenue per impression.

Pre-roll advertisements are widespread and fairly common. This is a message that must be viewed prior to the content. Furthermore, they can be very annoying because there is no way to skip it right away. However, if you present them in a witty and entertaining way, you can achieve a CPM of $3–$8. The same is true for Mid Roll ads, which appear in the middle of a video clip.

Outstream video ads appear in the ad space between images and other pieces of content. They advertise a CPM rate of $4–$8. Because there are no restrictions on placement, such advertisements are extremely visible.

Because they are not annoying and are created within the channel concept, native videos can fetch $5 or more.

YouTube Video CPM Rates 2021

Video ads are becoming a significant purchase for advertisers all over the world. Top Fortune 500 companies spend millions of dollars on video ads to engage with customers, promote new products, and remarket existing products.

Video advertisements have the highest level of engagement and brand loyalty, and are thus the way forward for marketers and ad agencies. In addition, programmatic ad serving in the United States alone reached nearly $22 billion in 2016.

Both advertisers and publishers are cashing in on video ad formats, as video advertising is the way of the future. In today’s post, we’ll go over the video ad CPM rates (with a special emphasis on YouTube CPM rates) across various industry channels, as well as how publishers and YouTubers can monetize their video ad inventory and earn more money.

After reading this article, you should have a good understanding of the following:

  • Benefits of running video ads
  • Benefits of running a YouTube channel
  • A detail on Video ads CPM rates for publishers
  • Know about YouTube CPM rates of 2021
  • Understand Average YouTube CPM 2021
  • Overview of Ad Exchange Video CPM Rates
  • Video Ad types and terms
  • YouTube CPM Rates by Country
  • YouTube Ad rates
  • YouTube CPM Rates in India

CPM Rates for Video Ads in 2021 for Publishers 

Video ads are now served programmatically. They require a high volume of traffic from the United States, Canada, and Tier 1 countries in order to monetize because this geography has the largest pool of advertisers who spend on video ads. Aside from Google Ad Exchange, there are several video ad networks that advertisers use to purchase media, so partnering with them would result in additional revenue. However, video ad serving has some limitations for publishers. To monetize video ads, you must have a good video inventory and a significant volume of tier 1 traffic. The most popular ad networks’ video ad CPM rates are listed below.

CPM rates for video ads

CPM Rates on YouTube in 2021.

Youtube CPM rates for publishers vary greatly and are determined by the advertisers’ target audience. For US and Canadian traffic, a publisher can earn between $5 and $10. This means that advertisers on YouTube are spending between USD 10 and USD 20 on true view ads. Again, the average www CPM rates for YouTube are around USD 3 and decrease when it comes to popular niches such as viral content, Bollywood, and so on. Rates are always higher in the technology and marketing sectors. There are several YouTube video ad formats, but trueview in-stream ads generate the most revenue. Because the supply side of YouTube is increasing at an exponential rate these days, CPM rates tend to be on the low side, especially when it comes to Indian traffic.

CPM on YouTube in 2021. 

The average YouTube CPM rates vary depending on the niche and audience targeted. Tier 2 countries, such as India, can expect rates ranging from 20 cents to $5. Rates are typically lower for less engaged users and audiences with little advertiser demand. If the majority of your audience is from the working class, your average YouTube CPM rates will skyrocket because this audience type can be targeted and retargeted to increase advertiser sales and conversion. To get a sense of the average YouTube CPM, keep in mind the segments that define YouTube’s CPM: audience type, location, channel niche, and engagement levels. Additionally, specific metrics such as clicking on the app link or the visit more button can significantly boost the average YouTuve CPM rates.

2021 Ad Exchange Video CPM Rates 

Publishers can sign up for Google AdExchange through any of the Certified partners and begin experimenting with video ads. CPM rates for ad exchanges vary and are determined by a variety of factors, including geography, engagement, click-through rates, and more. In addition, publishers can select from the following ad types to display in their video inventory. We’ve also discovered that the niche of the content is very important in video CPM rates served through the Google Ad Exchange program. We receive 600-700 visitors per day to one of our blogs, which generates a daily revenue of $6 to $7 with a fill rate of approximately 60%. This means that the CPM for video ads is around $15 or higher. The CPM rates can sometimes reach $25. On one of our other blogs, however, the rates are around $5. This is usually associated with the audience targeting and the type of audience. CPM rates for niche videos are typically higher, whereas CPM rates for RON videos are typically lower. The following is a list of the video ad types that are available in Ad Exchange.

Pre-roll video ads
Mid-roll video ads
Post-roll video ads

To compete with the network, you can also include overlay ads, as well as trueview and skippable ad units. Let’s look at some of the ad formats that are available to publishers in ADX.

Video Ad Types and Terminology Explained 

These are the video ad formats available to Ad Exchange advertisers for your video inventory.

Non-video ads– These are non-video ads that are served because Ad Exchange was unable to display a video ad type on your inventory and thus backfills with non-video ads.
Standard Instream Ads- Standard in-stream ads last between 0:15 and 0:30 seconds and cannot be skipped.
TrueView+ Skippable Instream Ads- TrueView in-stream ads give viewers the option of watching the ad in its entirety or skipping it after 5 seconds.
VPaid- VPaid is an advertising technology, and ads served in this format are known as vpaid ads.
Video App Promotion- These are video advertisements that promote a Play Store or Appstore app. Such video ads typically include a Click here URL, which directs visitors to the advertiser’s specified destination if they click on it.
Here is a list of terms you should be aware of, and I believe this is just a repetition because most of you are already familiar with these terms.

Video Ad Types and Terminology Explained

Ad Request- When a player requests a video ad, this is referred to as a “ad request.”
A matched request occurs when the ad network is able to match an ad based on the video player’s request.
Coverage is the percentage of ad requests that are matched.
Estimated Revenue- The total revenue generated by the advertisement type.
Ad Impressions- The actual number of ad impressions served to viewers is referred to as “ad impressions.”
” It is always less than the matched request, and the reason for the difference is more technical, such as ad timeout, etc.
The ad revenue per 1000 viewable impressions is referred to as the ad eCPM.
As you can see, true-view skippable ads bring in the majority of the revenue. Furthermore, the CPM rate is around CAD$ 10, which is quite good when compared to standard CPM rates for display ad units. These video CPM rates apply primarily to traffic from Tier 1 and Tier 2 sources. Furthermore, the video app promo ads have a low CPM rate of around CAD$ 2, which can be increased. As a publisher, we have no control over the type of ads that appear in the video inventory, and we have little control over video ad optimization.

CPM Rates for Video Ads in 2021 for Advertisers 

The CPM rates for video ads can vary greatly depending on the targeting keywords and the ad network. According to the Monetizepros video guide, the average video RPM for YouTube publishers is around $3, with a network cut of about 50%. This means that an advertiser must pay $6 for every 1000 video views on www traffic. Rates rise further if it is explicitly targeted to US and Canadian traffic, as competition for such traffic sources is fierce. The average for direct sales is around $24 per 1000 ad impressions.

CPM Rates on YouTube by Country 2020-2021.

Look at the image below for an idea of YouTube CPM rates by country in 2021. The CPM rate for India, as shown here, is around $1.5. If you have a high volume of traffic from the United States and the United Kingdom, you can expect rates to reach $10 or higher. On average, YouTube CPM rates for tier one traffic are close to $10, while those for tier two traffic are around $2.

It should be noted, however, that ads are not served on all impressions, and fill rates range from 20 to 80 percent, depending on the niche of your video content and advertiser demand. If you have a channel dedicated to the technology niche, your YouTube CPM rates may rise even further.

YouTube Ad Rates in 2021 

YouTube typically serves four types of advertisements. Skippable, non-skippable, display, and bumper ads are all available. Skippable video ads have the highest CPM rates, which can range from $15 to $20 in tier one traffic countries. Display ads have the lowest ad rates on YouTube. They are, however, served in the auction to increase the competitiveness of the ads and, as a result, higher revenue for the publishers. The ad formats and their overall CPM rates are listed below.

CPM Rates on YouTube in India in 2021. 

Because of the small number of advertisers who use video ads, CPM rates for video ads in India tend to be on the lower side on YouTube and Ad exchanges. You can see the YouTube CPM rates in India for the year 2021 in the image below. However, rates for technology and money-making channels are higher, while rates for entertainment and education are lower. The screenshot below depicts the impression CPM, which ranges from 20 cents to $2 and is predominantly from Indian traffic.

Does the size of the player affect video CPM rates?

Newbie publishers must be wondering why video ad CPM rates are so low in Asian countries, particularly India, where many bloggers are from. While video ad rates vary by geography and audience type, they also vary by player size. If you have mobile traffic, as most Indian publishers do, the CPM rates for players are nearly a third of what they are for desktop. In a nutshell, if you had the same amount of traffic coming from desktop, you could have earned three times as much as you do from mobile. This is significant because the demand for desktop traffic is much higher. As a result, video CPM rates are affected by player size.

Purchases of programmatic video ads are increasing because they target the most relevant audience. Furthermore, programmatic direct is one of the best ways to buy video inventory from publishers without risking ad fraud. To summarize, publishers should keep an eye out for new monetization methods and continue to experiment with optimization techniques in order to increase their ad revenue. Because good content is at the heart of monetization, we should always design a business model that allows us to focus on adding value to the end-users. Before we conclude, let us summarize the advantages of running video ads for publishers.

The Advantages of Running Video Ads for Publishers 

Higher CPM rates for video ads mean more revenue for publishers.
Visitors respond favorably to the right kind of video ads.
Publishers can now monetize their websites with video ads.

The Advantages of Running a YouTube Channel for Publishers 

Earn additional revenue for specific niches.
Customers who subscribe to YouTube Red have a greater opportunity for monetization.
Opportunities for sponsored video
improved brand visibility

Solution for Video Advertising 

SmartyAds’ video advertising solution for publishers includes rewarded, in-stream, native, reveal, in-banner, and interstitial video formats that are served across channels and platforms at CPM rates ranging from $1,5 to $0,5 for top-tier countries. Publishers can monetize and improve user experience across different screens, ad formats, sizes, and resolutions with 2 billion impressions served daily. Extend your monetary resources.

Do you want to boost your YouTube subscribers, traffic, and channel SEO?

TubeBuddy is a FREE browser extension that integrates directly into YouTube to assist you in managing your channel. The premium version includes productivity, bulk processing, video SEO, promotion, and data&research tools to help you grow your channel. Specifically, video search engine optimization is critical for achieving higher YouTube rankings.

Countries ranked by CPM / RPM on YouTube for content creators. 

CPM for any media, including YouTube, varies by country and is determined by the currency and price paid by local advertisers.

Essentially, the higher the local advertisers pay, the higher the publishers (in this case, YouTube creators) can earn from the ad revenue shared by the media owner.

So, which country has the highest YouTube CPM? The answer will be revealed here soon!

What about YouTube content creators’ ad revenue per thousand impressions (RPM)? Given that Google / YouTube demands 45 percent of ad revenue, you can estimate that the remaining CPM revenue is reserved for YouTubers.

Here’s how we got the data: we looked at our own YouTube channel and compiled a list of 94 countries that contributed views in the previous year, from July 12 to July 11, 2019.

However, keep in mind that the playback-based CPM you are actually earning may differ from this CPM reference. CPM rates may also fluctuate from time to time.

Countries in terms of YouTube CPM. 

Surprisingly, the Maldives has the highest YouTube CPM in the world at USD15.47, which is nearly three times that of the United States and nearly 12 times that of Malaysia!

Is the cost of advertising in the Maldives really that high? Could someone please shed some light on this?

Countries in terms of YouTube CPM

Take a look at who comes in second. Guadeloupe, a French overseas region, is an island group in the southern Caribbean Sea that I’m sure many people have never heard of.

Here is the complete list of 94 countries, ranked by CPM from highest to lowest:

Maldives 15.47

Guadeloupe 10.97

Denmark 10.61

Poland 9.23

Pakistan 7.54

Panama 6.38

Australia 6.15

New Zealand 5.63

United States 5.33

Namibia 5.20

Switzerland 5.18

Luxembourg 5.17

Anguilla 5.12

Germany 5.06

Norway 5.04

Portugal 4.82

United Arab Emirates 4.72

Canada 4.64

Japan 4.60

United Kingdom 4.59

France 4.50

Netherlands 4.29

Sweden 4.27

Spain 3.83

Italy 3.65

Macao 3.53

Ireland 3.24

South Korea 3.21

Puerto Rico 3.13

Belgium 3.11

Saudi Arabia 3.09

Myanmar (Burma) 2.90

Hong Kong 2.90

Croatia 2.84

Nigeria 2.77

Kuwait 2.76

South Africa 2.72

Finland 2.67

Austria 2.62

Brunei 2.59

Isle of Man 2.57

Cambodia 2.40

China 2.36

Israel 2.29

Cyprus 2.20

Egypt 2.13

Singapore 2.08

Brazil 2.06

Belize 2.04

India 2.02

Costa Rica 2.00

Thailand 1.94

Qatar 1.90

Sint Maarten 1.90

Argentina 1.89

Romania 1.85

Russia 1.82

Chile 1.78

Taiwan 1.65

Laos 1.60

Sri Lanka 1.59

Vietnam 1.57

Mauritius 1.57

Philippines 1.49

Mexico 1.44

Colombia 1.39

Indonesia 1.33

Malaysia 1.31

Ecuador 1.21

Guatemala 1.18

Hungary 1.16

Turkey 1.15

Malta 1.13

Czechia 1.09

Kenya 1.07

Slovakia 1.05

Papua New Guinea 1.03

Ukraine 0.94

Kazakhstan 0.92

Oman 0.87

Mozambique 0.84

Dominican Republic 0.83

Peru 0.80

Bahrain 0.78

Mongolia 0.72

French Guiana 0.72

Honduras 0.65

Estonia 0.51

New Caledonia 0.46

Greece 0.42

Venezuela 0.37

Côte d’Ivoire 0.36

Jamaica 0.03

Jordan 0.02



  • Below you’ll find the top 17 highest paying niches on Youtube, according to our analysis of over 100 videos: 1. (
  • Estimated Gross Earnings Per 1,000 Views
  • Although YouTube traditionally kept its share of advertising income secret, it is now common knowledge that Google keeps 45% of YouTube advertising revenue.
  • So you receive 55% of every dollar paid by advertisers (which is less than the 68% that website owners receive for most other types of Google Adsense advertising)
  • The estimated earnings that the average YouTube creator could expect to receive from ads on a new video on their channel if EVERYBODY watched the ad on their video and the advertiser paid the average $7.60
  • CPM is 55% x $7.60, equaling $4.18 per 1,000 views.
  • It is likely that at least 10% of a channel’s subscribers will want to view any new videos it uploads.
  • A channel with only 1,000 subscribers will only have a base of 100 people likely to return to look at their new videos.
  • In practice, only 15% of video watchers on average watch at least 30 seconds of an advertising video, which officially counts as being a view.
  • This means that the average YouTube site generates $7.60 x 0.15 = $1.14 revenue, less YouTube’s 55% take, leaves the channel owner with $0.63 net income from 1,000 views of a video. (
Youtube CPM rates by Niche