2021-10-07 15:15:24 Abdulrazak Gurnah Is Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Abdulrazak Gurnah Is Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Abdulrazak Gurnah was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature on Thursday for “his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents.”

The award, which is given for a writer’s entire body of work, is considered the most prestigious in literature. Previous winners of the award, which was established in 1901, have included novelist Toni Morrison, playwright Samuel Beckett, and singer-songwriter Bob Dylan.

Who else has won the prize recently?

According to the Nobel committee’s citation, the American poet Louise Glück received the prize for literature last year for writing “that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.” After several years of scandal, her award was seen as a much-needed reset for the prize.

The academy postponed the award in 2018 after the husband of an academy member was accused of sexual misconduct and leaking candidate names to bookmakers. Jean-Claude Arnault, a member of the academy, was later sentenced to two years in prison for rape.

The academy awarded the delayed 2018 prize to Olga Tokarczuk, an experimental Polish novelist, the following year. However, the academy was chastised for awarding the 2019 prize to Peter Handke, an Austrian author and playwright who has been accused of genocide denial for questioning events during the 1990s Balkan Wars, including the Srebrenica massacre, which killed approximately 8,000 Muslim men and boys.

Lawmakers in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Kosovo all condemned the decision, as did several prominent novelists, including Jennifer Egan and Hari Kunzru.

Who else was awarded a Nobel Prize this year?

On Monday, David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian were awarded the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for their research into how people perceive heat, cold, touch, and their own bodily movements.

On Tuesday, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to three scientists whose work “laid the foundation of our knowledge of the Earth’s climate and how humanity influences it”: Princeton University’s Syukuro Manabe, the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology’s Klaus Hasselmann in Hamburg, Germany, and the Sapienza University of Rome’s Giorgio Parisi

On Wednesday, Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing a more environmentally friendly tool for building molecules.

Source link

Other News

Subscribe to our World NEWS Letter

Mapping Losses for Angela Merkel's Party in German Vote